infoInfo miscellaneous_servicesAmenities photo_cameraPhotos placeLocation rate_reviewReviews eventBook

Sundeck, Unit 9/51 Ronald Avenue

apartmentApartment
placeShoal Bay, NSW

groups Max Occupancy: 6
hotelhotel Bedrooms: 2
bathtub
bathtub Bathrooms: 1
directions_car
directions_car Parking: 2
schedule Check-in Time: 2:00pm
schedule
schedule Check-out Time: 10:00am

Awesome Shoal Bay And a POOL!

This second floor two bedroom unit is located in the Sundeck building in Shoal Bay. With beautiful views over Shoal Bay, open plan living area and a renovated kitchen, it is a lovely spot to spend your holiday.

Main bedroom features queen bed with built in robe, a TV and side balcony with filtered water views. The second bedroom offers two sets of bunks, built in robe and a private balcony also. The bathroom has a shower over the bath and there is an internal laundry with washer and dryer.

The complex features a communal pool and a games room. The balcony overlooks Shoal Bay and has a sun lounge for relaxing and a gas BBQ and outdoor dining set for entertainment. Also a double lock up garage great for a couple of cars or for storing bikes, canoes etc.

There are definitely smoke alarms at this property.
Please note this property does NOT include sheets and towels. Please contact our agency if you wish to hire sheets and towels at your expense.

Apartment Features

countertops
Kitchen
pool
Pool
smoke_free
Non-Smoking
pets
No Pets

Rooms/Bedding

Linen not supplied. This two bedroom unit is located in a popular building in Shoal Bay and offers views and communal pool!

Total Beds within Property:

  • 1 x Queen Bed king_bed
  • 2 x Bunk Beds single_bedsingle_bed

Amenities

local_diningDining

  • Dining

domainGeneral

  • Garage
  • Parking

parkLocation

  • Water View

deckOutside

  • Balcony

poolPool Spa

  • Communal Pool

countertopsKitchen

  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Full Kitchen
  • Crockery & Cutlery

weekendLiving

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linen & Towels Not Provided

outdoor_grillOutdoor

  • Gas Grill
  • Covered Area

tvEntertainment

  • Multiple TV

Photo Gallery

photo_cameraBrowse Full Gallery

Location

Unit 9/51 Ronald Avenue, Shoal Bay, NSW 2315

Request to Book

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT

ADULT
CHILD


local_offer Check Availability for Rates

 

Availability Calendar

September 2021

arrow_left
M T W T F S S
    1
close
2
close
3
close
4
close
5
close
6
close
7
close
8
close
9
close
10
close
11
close
12
close
13
close
14
close
15
close
16
close
17
close
18
close
19
close
20
close
21
close
22
close
23
close
24
close
25
close
26
2+
nights_stay
27
2+
nights_stay
28
2+
nights_stay
29
2+
nights_stay
30
2+
nights_stay
     

Payment Methods

VisaMastercard

Average Rating

starstarstarstar_half3.4

mood
Overall Satisfaction
3.5 / 5
construction
Property Condition
3.3 / 5
place
Location
4 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
3 / 5
supervisor_account
Services from Rental Manager
3.3 / 5

rate_review Show Reviewsexpand_more

Spacious with a great view

Great view! Lots of space. Not luxurious, but clean. Has everything you need. Great pool. Only negative was that the second bedroom with bunk beds is quite hot and has no cooling.
Reviewed by Guest from Dubbo, NSW, Australia on Mon 30th Nov 2020
checkRecommend to Others

mood
Overall Satisfaction
4 / 5
construction
Property Condition
3 / 5
place
Location
3 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
4 / 5
supervisor_account
Services from Rental Manager
5 / 5

Amazing Views, Great Location

The apartment was in a great location, had beautiful views and a good size for 5 adults. There is nothing fancy about the place, although it was comfortable and worth the set price. There is a garage and plenty of parking on the street. We didn't need to use our cars while at Shoal Bay, as everything is a very short walk.
The apartment is located very close to bush walking tracks that takes you to hidden beaches and to Mt Tomaree.
The pool area was clean and located below the apartment for direct viewing. (we didn't use this area but it was nice to look over the pool)
The kitchen had everything needed, was clean and the open plan living made our time very social.
The communication between the management company was very little, there was no house manual, or no digital copy uploaded to the online portal. When I did have to contact them, thy gave me incorrect information and even told me I had booked for the wrong weekend, even after explain to them I had an email confirming the correct dates from
The staff were not helpful and misleading. When trying to communicate about checking out process, they couldn't give me clear instructions about where the bins were kept, after searching I needed an access code, that was not provided (I would assume this would be in the house manual that was nonexistent).
Overall the location we perfect, the apartment was great and Shoal Bay was beautiful. When returning I will not be using Winning Holidays, or staying at this apartment because of the management service.
Reviewed by Emma H. from Mayfield, Australia on Tue 10th Nov 2020

mood
Overall Satisfaction
4 / 5
construction
Property Condition
4 / 5
place
Location
5 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
4 / 5
supervisor_account
Services from Rental Manager
1 / 5

Shoal Bay Holiday - September 2020

Great location and view. However the property was very dirty on arrival (not cleaned after the previous occupant). After we complained, the property management company arranged for a cleaner to clean the property while we were out for dinner. ALSO - the pool at this property is currently shut due to COVID-19. This is understandable, however the pool should not be advertised in the add. Our kids were keen to use the pool, and we would of looked at booking other properties if we knew the pool was shut.
Reviewed by Guest from Shalvey, NSW, Australia on Mon 5th Oct 2020

mood
Overall Satisfaction
3 / 5
construction
Property Condition
3 / 5
place
Location
4 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
1 / 5
supervisor_account
Services from Rental Manager
4 / 5

Substantial Unit

Lovely location, unit looked like it had not been cleaned from previous guest, and was limited in cleaning supplies so you were unable to wash everything properly e.g. dishwashing liquid, cloths, spray for benches. Otherwise nice unit for a short stay
Reviewed by Tiana from Sydney, NSW, Australia on Wed 1st May 2019

mood
Overall Satisfaction
3 / 5

We are so sorry for your disappointment, house keeping will be spoken to about the missed clean and not leaving you a welcome pack, which contains cloths, dishwashing liquid, soap, tea/coffee etc. If there is ever an issue on arrival, please contact our office immediately and we will send housekeeping or maintenance out as quickly and smoothly as possible to rectify the situation without interrupting your holiday.
Response from Winning Holidays on Wed 1st May 2019

Cancellation Policy

Please click "Read More" to view our Cancellation Policy:


If you cancel your accommodation the following applies -

1. Bookings cancelled at least 90 days prior to “Guest” arrival date is refundable less a cancellation fee of $100.00.

2. Booking cancelled less than 90 days from “Guest” arrival date are non refundable but the following does apply –

i) if any guest has booked direct with Alloggio Holidays, and request a refund for a booking arrival date inside 90 days, we do not refund but can transfer booking dates or if guests are uncertain of dates we will provide them with an Alloggio Holiday gift voucher to the value of their “Rent” component of the booking.

ii) our fees will be retained however when the guest does utilise the gift voucher the value of rent will be towards whatever the cost of their new booking value is. There will be no booking fees charged on gift voucher bookings as we have already retained the fees.

iii) The voucher will be valid for booking stay dates within three years from date of issue and may be used on any of our Holiday Properties depending on availability.

3. If you shorten your stay, the unused portion of your rental is not refundable.

4. Any Bookings made via an OTA, for example, Stayz, , Airbnb or other booking provider will be subject to the OTA Terms and Conditions.If you cancel any booking made through Stayz, , Airbnb or other booking provider you may be required to pay further fees to those providers pursuant to their cancellation policy.

5. Any costs imposed by any other provider are in addition to any costs imposed by Alloggio Management.


policy Read Moreexpand_more

The specialists in short stay rentals in Port Stephens and Newcastle.
A little slice of paradise on the Tomaree and Tilligerry Peninsulas.
Rediscover the things that matter and enjoy life's true pleasures.
Read our latest news and articles within the Port Stephens Accommodation Blog.
BOOK YOUR PORT STEPHENS ACCOMMODATION TODAY!